Rvgolfer's Blog

Looking at life through an oversized steering wheel

Phoenix Lake Municipal near Sonora, Calif.

leave a comment »

Having been in Calif. a month and a half, helping care for my 90-year-old mother after she broke her hip in a fall, I decided it was time to treat myself. OK, I have played two other courses courtesy of Golf Today magazine during my visit, and spent the Veteran’s Day weekend with my son and his family in Las Vegas.

Other than that outing, I hadn’t been able to get out since August. So on this fine fall day I slipped on my thrift store golf shirt and looked around for Phoenix Lake golf course. Following Highway 108 almost to its end, I turned off at Hess Road, turned left under 108, then right.

Two miles along, I saw the “Phoenix Lake Estates” sign and turned left. Another half mile, I pulled into the tree-shaded parking lot and walked across the street to the clubhouse.

Phoenix Lake. I wrote about it once before, years ago. The owner at the time was son of one of the original Harley-Davidson racing team, the “Wrecking Crew.”

It’s now under new ownership, since about a year ago. As a senior, with a $5 rental cart, I spent $17.

The pro told me the new owners planned to doubleseed next year. Apparently they need to use one type of grass during the scorching summers up here, another for the cooler weather in the fall.

The fairways weren’t terrible on this course, but they were narrow. If you strayed into the rough, which I have a habit of doing, there were clumps of green grass surrounded by bare dirt. But since I was by myself and playing for fun, I always ended up with a perfect lie.

The first hole wasn’t too bad, but the second–a 312-yard shot over a creek, ending with a raised green–ended up eating two balls.

It is a pretty course with the trees changing color, but those narrow fairways had houses crowding up against them. I noticed one dwelling particularly well-provided with wire mesh over their windows.

The sun sets early in these mountains in November, around 5p.m., so to squeeze in that twilight rate becomes almost a case of Extreme Golf. But if you get there earlier, it’s a pleasant stroll.

Written by rvgolfer

November 20, 2008 at 7:28 pm

Leave a Reply

